LL-37: research profile
Last updated Oct 8, 2026 · research counts checked Oct 7, 2026
Identity
- Name
- LL-37
- Also called
- cathelicidin LL-37; human cathelicidin antimicrobial peptide
- Sequence
- LLGDFFRKSKEKIGKEFKRIVQRIKDFLRNLVPRTES (37 residues)
- Molecular formula
- C205H340N60O53
- Molecular weight
- 4493 g/mol
- CAS number
- 154947-66-7
- Source
- PubChem CID 16198951 ↗
A 37-residue peptide, the active fragment of the human cathelicidin protein.
Sequences are shown only where the formula calculated from the sequence matches PubChem's formula exactly; CAS numbers only where the PubChem record lists a single valid one.
Published research record
Counts of database records matching the compound's names, as of Oct 7, 2026. They describe how much has been published and in what kind of study, not what any study found.
| Record type | Count | Source |
|---|---|---|
| PubMed records (any study type) | 3020 | PubMed search ↗ |
| …indexed as animal studies, with no human tag | 216 | PubMed search ↗ |
| …indexed as clinical trials (in people) | 69 | PubMed search ↗ |
| …indexed as reviews | 304 | PubMed search ↗ |
| ClinicalTrials.gov registered studies | 61 | ClinicalTrials.gov search ↗ |
PubMed query: "LL-37"[tiab] OR "LL37"[tiab]. ClinicalTrials.gov query: "LL-37". PubMed's study-type tags are added by indexers and lag new records, and keyword matches can include records that only mention the compound, so read these as rough counts.
Regulatory status
- FDA (compounding): FDA placed it in Category 2 of its bulk-drug-substances list (substances that may present significant safety risks in compounding). The nomination was later withdrawn, and it now appears on FDA's "nominated but withdrawn" list. (listed as "Cathelicidin LL-37") FDA source ↗
- Research peptides from both vendors are sold for laboratory research use only, not for human or veterinary consumption. This summary isn't legal or regulatory advice.
Lab-tested LL-37 lots (4)
| Lot | Vendor · product | Report date | Lab | HPLC purity | Identity |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| LL37-5-002 | Peptira · LL-37 Vial 5 mg | Jan 31, 2026 | Freedom Diagnostics | 99.93% | Mass identified as LL-37 (LC-MS) |
| LL37-5-001 | Peptira · LL-37 Vial 5 mg | Dec 26, 2025 | Freedom Diagnostics | 99.79% | Mass identified as LL-37 (LC-MS) |
| L375N070725 | Paramount Peptides · LL-37 (5mg) | Jul 16, 2025 | Janoshik | 99.27% | Not reported |
| LL375A061125 | Paramount Peptides · LL-37 (5mg) | Jun 19, 2025 | Janoshik | 99.74% | Not reported |
Doses reported in published studies: LL-37: doses reported in published research (literature summary, not advice).
Organ systems in published research: Skin.