MOTS-c: research profile
Last updated Oct 8, 2026 · research counts checked Oct 7, 2026
Identity
- Name
- MOTS-c
- Also called
- mitochondrial open reading frame of the 12S rRNA-c
- Sequence
- MRWQEMGYIFYPRKLR (16 residues)
- Molecular formula
- C101H152N28O22S2
- Molecular weight
- 2174.6 g/mol
- CAS number
- 1627580-64-6
- Source
- PubChem CID 146675088 ↗
A 16-residue peptide encoded in mitochondrial DNA.
Sequences are shown only where the formula calculated from the sequence matches PubChem's formula exactly; CAS numbers only where the PubChem record lists a single valid one.
Published research record
Counts of database records matching the compound's names, as of Oct 7, 2026. They describe how much has been published and in what kind of study, not what any study found.
| Record type | Count | Source |
|---|---|---|
| PubMed records (any study type) | 262 | PubMed search ↗ |
| …indexed as animal studies, with no human tag | 54 | PubMed search ↗ |
| …indexed as clinical trials (in people) | 5 | PubMed search ↗ |
| …indexed as reviews | 57 | PubMed search ↗ |
| ClinicalTrials.gov registered studies | 8 | ClinicalTrials.gov search ↗ |
PubMed query: "MOTS-c"[tiab] OR "MOTSc"[tiab]. ClinicalTrials.gov query: "MOTS-c". PubMed's study-type tags are added by indexers and lag new records, and keyword matches can include records that only mention the compound, so read these as rough counts.
Regulatory status
- FDA (compounding): FDA placed it in Category 2 of its bulk-drug-substances list (substances that may present significant safety risks in compounding). The nomination was later withdrawn, and it now appears on FDA's "nominated but withdrawn" list. (listed as "MOTs-C") FDA source ↗
- Research peptides from both vendors are sold for laboratory research use only, not for human or veterinary consumption. This summary isn't legal or regulatory advice.
Lab-tested MOTS-c lots (25)
| Lot | Vendor · product | Report date | Lab | HPLC purity | Identity |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 36852 | Paramount Peptides · MOTs-C (10mg) | Jun 26, 2026 | Accumark Labs | 99.68% | Conforms |
| 36851 | Paramount Peptides · MOTs-C (10mg) | Jun 26, 2026 | Accumark Labs | 99.69% | Conforms |
| MOT10N052926 | Paramount Peptides · MOTs-C (10mg) | Jun 23, 2026 | Accumark Labs | 99.32% | Conforms |
| MOT10N051326 | Paramount Peptides · MOTs-C (10mg) | Jun 23, 2026 | Accumark Labs | 99.24% | Conforms |
| MOTS10-009 | Peptira · MOTS-C Vial 10 mg | Jun 15, 2026 | Freedom Diagnostics | 99.75% | Confirmed (LC-MS) |
| MOTS40-004 | Peptira · MOTS-C Vial 40 mg | May 28, 2026 | Freedom Diagnostics | 99.59% | Confirmed (LC-MS) |
| MOT10N042526 | Paramount Peptides · MOTs-C (10mg) | May 9, 2026 | Accumark Labs | 99.83% | Conforms |
| MOT10-032026-1 | Paramount Peptides · MOTs-C (10mg) | Apr 16, 2026 | Janoshik | 99.64% | Not reported |
| MOTS10-008 | Peptira · MOTS-C Vial 10 mg | Apr 12, 2026 | Freedom Diagnostics | 99.29% | Mass identified as MOTS-C (LC-MS) |
| MOTS10-007 | Peptira · MOTS-C Vial 10 mg | Apr 12, 2026 | Freedom Diagnostics | 99.42% | Mass identified as MOTS-C (LC-MS) |
| MOTS10-006 | Peptira · MOTS-C Vial 10 mg | Mar 19, 2026 | Freedom Diagnostics | 99.47% | Mass identified as MOTS-C (LC-MS) |
| MOTS10-005 | Peptira · MOTS-C Vial 10 mg | Mar 5, 2026 | Freedom Diagnostics | 99.80% | Mass identified as MOTS-C (LC-MS) |
| MOTS40-003 | Peptira · MOTS-C Vial 40 mg | Dec 6, 2025 | Freedom Diagnostics | 99.75% | Mass identified as MOTS-C (LC-MS) |
| MC092025 | Paramount Peptides · MOTs-C (10mg) | Dec 2, 2025 | Janoshik | 99.31% | Not reported |
| MOT10N111725 | Paramount Peptides · MOTs-C (10mg) | Nov 27, 2025 | Janoshik | 99.18% | Not reported |
| MOTS40-002 | Peptira · MOTS-C Vial 40 mg | Oct 13, 2025 | Freedom Diagnostics | 99.63% | Mass identified as MOTS-C (LC-MS) |
| MOTS10-004 | Peptira · MOTS-C Vial 10 mg | Oct 10, 2025 | Freedom Diagnostics | 99.72% | Mass identified as MOTS-C (LC-MS) |
| MOTS10-003 | Peptira · MOTS-C Vial 10 mg | Oct 10, 2025 | Freedom Diagnostics | 98.85% | Mass identified as MOTS-C (LC-MS) |
| MOTS40-001 | Peptira · MOTS-C Vial 40 mg | Oct 10, 2025 | Freedom Diagnostics | 99.73% | Mass identified as MOTS-C (LC-MS) |
| MOTS10-002 | Peptira · MOTS-C Vial 10 mg | Aug 13, 2025 | Janoshik | 99.52% | Not reported |
| MOTS10-001 | Peptira · MOTS-C Vial 10 mg | Jul 16, 2025 | Janoshik | 99.04% | Not reported |
| MOT10A060425 | Paramount Peptides · MOTs-C (10mg) | Jun 12, 2025 | Janoshik | 99.60% | Not reported |
| MOT10042325 | Paramount Peptides · MOTs-C (10mg) | Apr 29, 2025 | Janoshik | 99.01% | Not reported |
| MOT10N041525 | Paramount Peptides · MOTs-C (10mg) | Apr 29, 2025 | Janoshik | 99.30% | Not reported |
| MOT10N11202024 | Paramount Peptides · MOTs-C (10mg) | Dec 4, 2024 | Janoshik | 99.42% | Not reported |
Doses reported in published studies: MOTS-c: doses reported in published research (literature summary, not advice).
Organ systems in published research: Liver, Muscle & tendon, Pancreas & adipose tissue.