Semax: research profile
Last updated Oct 8, 2026 · research counts checked Oct 7, 2026
Identity
- Name
- Semax
- Also called
- Met-Glu-His-Phe-Pro-Gly-Pro; ACTH(4-7)-Pro-Gly-Pro
- Sequence
- MEHFPGP (7 residues)
- Molecular formula
- C37H51N9O10S
- Molecular weight
- 813.9 g/mol
- CAS number
- 80714-61-0
- Source
- PubChem CID 9811102 ↗
A synthetic heptapeptide: the ACTH(4-7) fragment extended with Pro-Gly-Pro.
Sequences are shown only where the formula calculated from the sequence matches PubChem's formula exactly; CAS numbers only where the PubChem record lists a single valid one.
Published research record
Counts of database records matching the compound's names, as of Oct 7, 2026. They describe how much has been published and in what kind of study, not what any study found.
| Record type | Count | Source |
|---|---|---|
| PubMed records (any study type) | 208 | PubMed search ↗ |
| …indexed as animal studies, with no human tag | 145 | PubMed search ↗ |
| …indexed as clinical trials (in people) | 4 | PubMed search ↗ |
| …indexed as reviews | 11 | PubMed search ↗ |
| ClinicalTrials.gov registered studies | 0 | ClinicalTrials.gov search ↗ |
PubMed query: semax[tiab]. ClinicalTrials.gov query: semax. PubMed's study-type tags are added by indexers and lag new records, and keyword matches can include records that only mention the compound, so read these as rough counts.
Regulatory status
- FDA (compounding): FDA placed it in Category 2 of its bulk-drug-substances list (substances that may present significant safety risks in compounding). The nomination was later withdrawn, and it now appears on FDA's "nominated but withdrawn" list. (listed as "Semax (heptapeptide)") FDA source ↗
- Research peptides from both vendors are sold for laboratory research use only, not for human or veterinary consumption. This summary isn't legal or regulatory advice.
Lab-tested Semax lots (15)
| Lot | Vendor · product | Report date | Lab | HPLC purity | Identity |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| SMAX10-008 (8X) | Peptira · Semax Vial 10 mg | Aug 4, 2026 | Freedom Diagnostics | 99.68% | Confirmed (LC-MS) |
| SMX30N022726 | Paramount Peptides · Semax (30mg) | Apr 16, 2026 | Janoshik | 99.34% | Not reported |
| SMX30N030626 | Paramount Peptides · Semax (30mg) | Apr 15, 2026 | Janoshik | 99.36% | Not reported |
| SMX30N022826 | Paramount Peptides · Semax (30mg) | Mar 18, 2026 | Janoshik | 99.22% | Not reported |
| SMX30N022026 | Paramount Peptides · Semax (30mg) | Mar 6, 2026 | Janoshik | 99.72% | Not reported |
| SMAX10-007 | Peptira · Semax Vial 10 mg | Jan 1, 2026 | Freedom Diagnostics | 99.35% | Not reported |
| SMAX10-006 | Peptira · Semax Vial 10 mg | Dec 23, 2025 | Freedom Diagnostics | 99.30% | Mass identified as Semax (LC-MS) |
| SMAX10-005 | Peptira · Semax Vial 10 mg | Nov 9, 2025 | Freedom Diagnostics | 99.24% | Mass identified as Semax (LC-MS) |
| SMX30N101525 | Paramount Peptides · Semax (30mg) | Oct 29, 2025 | Janoshik | 99.05% | Not reported |
| SMAX10-004 | Peptira · Semax Vial 10 mg | Oct 10, 2025 | Freedom Diagnostics | 99.41% | Mass identified as Semax (LC-MS) |
| SMX30N082825 | Paramount Peptides · Semax (30mg) | Sep 12, 2025 | Janoshik | 99.97% | Not reported |
| SMAX10-003 | Peptira · Semax Vial 10 mg | Sep 12, 2025 | Freedom Diagnostics | 99.61% | Mass identified as Semax (LC-MS) |
| SMAX10-002 | Peptira · Semax Vial 10 mg | Aug 28, 2025 | Janoshik | 99.44% | Not reported |
| SMX30N081525 | Paramount Peptides · Semax (30mg) | Aug 26, 2025 | Janoshik | 99.13% | Not reported |
| SEMAX10-001 | Peptira · Semax Vial 10 mg | Jul 16, 2025 | Janoshik | 99.73% | Not reported |
Doses reported in published studies: Semax: doses reported in published research (literature summary, not advice).
Organ systems in published research: Brain & nervous system, Heart & blood vessels.