Thymosin alpha-1: research profile
Last updated Oct 8, 2026 · research counts checked Oct 7, 2026
Identity
- Name
- Thymosin alpha-1
- Also called
- Tα1; thymalfasin
- Sequence
- Ac-SDAAVDTSSEITTKDLKEKKEVVEEAEN (28 residues)
- Molecular formula
- C129H215N33O55
- Molecular weight
- 3108.3 g/mol
- Source
- PubChem CID 16130571 ↗
A 28-residue N-acetylated peptide originally isolated from thymus tissue.
Sequences are shown only where the formula calculated from the sequence matches PubChem's formula exactly; CAS numbers only where the PubChem record lists a single valid one.
Published research record
Counts of database records matching the compound's names, as of Oct 7, 2026. They describe how much has been published and in what kind of study, not what any study found.
| Record type | Count | Source |
|---|---|---|
| PubMed records (any study type) | 886 | PubMed search ↗ |
| …indexed as animal studies, with no human tag | 236 | PubMed search ↗ |
| …indexed as clinical trials (in people) | 91 | PubMed search ↗ |
| …indexed as reviews | 138 | PubMed search ↗ |
| ClinicalTrials.gov registered studies | 66 | ClinicalTrials.gov search ↗ |
PubMed query: "thymosin alpha 1"[tiab] OR "thymosin alpha-1"[tiab] OR thymalfasin[tiab] OR "thymosin α1"[tiab]. ClinicalTrials.gov query: thymalfasin OR "thymosin alpha 1". PubMed's study-type tags are added by indexers and lag new records, and keyword matches can include records that only mention the compound, so read these as rough counts.
Regulatory status
- FDA (compounding): FDA placed it in Category 2 of its bulk-drug-substances list (substances that may present significant safety risks in compounding). The nomination was later withdrawn, and it now appears on FDA's "nominated but withdrawn" list. (listed as "Thymosin-alpha 1 (Ta1)") FDA source ↗
- Research peptides from both vendors are sold for laboratory research use only, not for human or veterinary consumption. This summary isn't legal or regulatory advice.
Lab-tested Thymosin alpha-1 lots (14)
| Lot | Vendor · product | Report date | Lab | HPLC purity | Identity |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| TA1-10-003 (8X) | Peptira · THYMOSIN ALPHA-1 Vial 10 mg | Aug 11, 2026 | Freedom Diagnostics | 99.69% | Confirmed (LC-MS) |
| TA10N060226 | Paramount Peptides · Thymosin Alpha 1 (TA1) (10mg) | Jun 28, 2026 | Accumark Labs | 99.56% | Conforms |
| 83629 | Paramount Peptides · Thymosin Alpha 1 (TA1) (10mg) | Jun 26, 2026 | Accumark Labs | 99.55% | Conforms |
| TA1-5-002 | Peptira · Thymosin Alpha 1 (Tα1) Vial 5 mg | Jan 11, 2026 | Freedom Diagnostics | 99.64% | Mass identified as Thymosin Alpha-1 (LC-MS) |
| TA1-5-001 | Peptira · Thymosin Alpha 1 (Tα1) Vial 5 mg | Dec 15, 2025 | Freedom Diagnostics | 99.92% | Mass identified as Thymosin Alpha-1 (LC-MS) |
| TA82025 | Paramount Peptides · Thymosin Alpha 1 (TA1) (10mg) | Nov 28, 2025 | Janoshik | 99.40% | Not reported |
| TA110N092425 | Paramount Peptides · Thymosin Alpha 1 (TA1) (10mg) | Oct 17, 2025 | Janoshik | 99.27% | Not reported |
| TA110N092325 | Paramount Peptides · Thymosin Alpha 1 (TA1) (10mg) | Oct 3, 2025 | Janoshik | 99.04% | Not reported |
| TA110N090525 | Paramount Peptides · Thymosin Alpha 1 (TA1) (10mg) | Sep 23, 2025 | Janoshik | 99.28% | Not reported |
| TA1C16A090425 | Paramount Peptides · Thymosin Alpha 1 (TA1) (10mg) | Sep 12, 2025 | Janoshik | Not reported | Not reported |
| TA1-10-002 | Peptira · THYMOSIN ALPHA-1 Vial 10 mg | Sep 12, 2025 | Freedom Diagnostics | 99.84% | Mass identified as Thymosin Alpha-1 (LC-MS) |
| TA1-10-001 | Peptira · THYMOSIN ALPHA-1 Vial 10 mg | Aug 29, 2025 | Janoshik | 99.33% | Not reported |
| TA1A061725 | Paramount Peptides · Thymosin Alpha 1 (TA1) (10mg) | Jun 25, 2025 | Janoshik | 99.06% | Not reported |
| TA110050125 | Paramount Peptides · Thymosin Alpha 1 (TA1) (10mg) | May 14, 2025 | Janoshik | 99.48% | Not reported |
Doses reported in published studies: Thymosin alpha-1: doses reported in published research (literature summary, not advice).
Organ systems in published research: Liver, Immune system & thymus.